CSE Professor Ian Parberry named a Distinguished Scientist by ACM

Congratulations to Dr. Ian Parberry on being named a Distinguished Scientist by the ACM in 2015! The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the world’s leading association of computing professionals, has selected 49 computing leaders from ACM honors members working in the areas of education, engineering and science (see complete list at this ACM news release.

The 2015 ACM Distinguished Members are drawn from leading academic institutions, as well as corporate and national research laboratories around the world. The criteria for selection to the Distinguished Member grade include at least 15 years of professional experience, five years of continuous ACM membership, and significant accomplishments or impact within the computing field.

November CSE Student and Alumni Newsletters

The November CSE Department newsletters have been sent. The CSE Student newsletter is online HERE and the CSE Alumni Newsletter is online HERE.

CSE Database Students win DHISCO Big Data Challenge

Congratulations to students in the CSCE 4350 Database Systems class on winning the DHISCO Big Data Challenge held at UNT on November 12, 2015! Students analyzed a very large real-world set of hospitality and travel booking data and presented their insights into the dataset using custom visualization tools. Details about the contest are here.

The "SQL 6" team won the grand prize of $1500. Pictured (L to R) Sonali Surpur, Janet Sleiman, Connor Bey, Mary Omoyele, Austin Waters, course instructor Dr. Ryan Garlick, Courtney Cartwright (not pictured).

The "Charlie's Angels" team (Dan Biwer, Blake Miller, Charlie Pipes, and Michael Launius) received the award for best presentation, with a very nice interactive website for analyzing the data.

CSE Faculty and Students at Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing

The Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing is the world’s largest gathering of women technologists. We are proud that 21 students and 5 faculty members from the UNT Department of Computer Science and Engineering will attend this event. On October 13, most of the group left on this bus from the Discovery Park parking lot and more were to be picked up in Lewisville. The Grace Hopper conference is expecting 12,000 people to attend this event which is being held October 14-16 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston, TX. This Celebration of Women in Computing is produced by the Anita Borg Institute and presented in partnership with ACM. More information here.

Net-Centric IUCRC Industrial Advisory Board to meet on October 14

NSF Net-Centric & Cloud Software & Systems Industry and University Cooperative Research Center (I/UCRC) will hold its Industrial Advisory Meeting on October 14, 2015 at the Gateway Center at the University of North Texas. NCSS IUCRC has been in operation for 6 years and has been conducting over $1M worth of research per year. Students that participated in IUCRC research have been employed by our industrial members or were offered internships. Dr. Krishna Kavi is the Director of the NCSS IUCRC. For more information, please see the website at http://netcentric.unt.edu/.

Dr. Armin Mikler to present 2015 Distinguished Research Lecture

Dr. Armin Mikler will give the 2015 Distinguished Research Lecture at the Salute to Faculty Excellence in Research and Creativity on September 30, 2015 from 3 to 5 pm in the Willis Library Forum (first floor). Congratulations to Dr. Mikler on receiving the 2015 Research Leadership Award sponsored by the UNT Office for Faculty Success and the Office of Research and Economic Development. All faculty and students are invited to attend this event! Please see this flyer and schedule for more information.

Distinguished Speaker Seminar on September 18

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering welcomes Mr. Gopal Rao as our first guest speaker for Fall 2015 on Friday, September 18, 2015. His presentation will be "Big Data Management in Advanced Semiconductor High Volume Manufacturing (HVM) Operations". Mr. Rao is currently the U.S. Chair for the Intelligent Manufacturing working group under the auspices of FUMEC (Fundación México Estados Unidos Para la Ciencia/The United States-Mexico Foundation for Science). His talk will be held at 11:30 am in NTDP F223. Everyone is invited to attend!

September CSE Student and Alumni Newsletter

The September CSE Department newsletters have been sent. The CSE Student newsletter is online HERE and the CSE Alumni Newsletter is online HERE.

Congressman Michael Burgess hosts Cyber-Security Roundtable with CSE Faculty and Students

Congressman Burgess with Dr. Ram Dantu (above) and Dr. Hassan Takabi (below) and their PhD Students.

Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D., hosted a Cyber-Security Roundtable on August 19, 2015 at Discovery Park. After UNT President Dr. Neal Smatresk welcomed everyone, Congressman Burgess gave his opening remarks. Dr. Dantu, CSE Professor and Director of the UNT Center for Information and Computer Security, participated on a Cyber-Security Panel with David Wagner, President of Entrust Datacard; Stephen Bohanon, Founder, Chief Strategy and Sales Officer for Alkami Technology, Inc. The panel was moderated by Larry Parker, Owner of the Denton Depot. James Elliott, Assistant Regional Director of the Southwest Region of the Federal Trade Commission also made remarks before a question and answer session with the audience.

CSE Professor Dr. Krishna Kavi, standing on the right, questions the panel of security experts in this article about the Cyber-Security Roundtable.

BA in IT graduate Kyle Taylor runs Bootstrap Denton

Kyle Taylor, a 2012 graduate of our Information Technology program, is organizing Bootstrap Denton for the second year. Kyle wrote this article which appeared on the front page of the business section of the Denton Record-Chronicle on August 16, 2015. Bootstrap Denton is hosting their 2nd Annual Mixer on Tuesday, August 18, from 6:30 to 9:30 pm at Harvest House, 331 East Hickory Street, in Denton. Register for this event and check out Bootstrap Denton here.

Kyle is a co-founder of a local non-profit called TechMill, which focuses on providing resources and supporting students, startups, and entrepreneurs through educational events in the Denton community. Good luck to Kyle and Bootstrap Denton!

Syndicate content