L-3 Mission Integration donates equipment for CSE programs

Keith Seawright, Director of Technology Development for L-3 Mission Integration, and Ram Dantu, Director of the CSE Network Security Lab.
The Department of Computer Science and Engineering received a donation of equipment from L-3 Mission Integration, a prime contractor in aerospace systems and national security solutions. L-3 donated Cisco servers to the Network Security Teaching Lab and Dell servers for our BA in Information Technology program. Based in Greenville, Texas, L-3 Mission Integration is a division of L-3 Communications, which is the sixth largest defense company in the United States and is headquartered in New York City.

Thanks to L-3 for their donation to our CSE Department!

CSE Seminar on October 31

On Friday, October 31, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering will host a CSE Seminar with Sridhar Rajagopal from Samsung. He will present "mmWave Mobile Communication for 5G Challenges and Opportunities" at 11:00 am in F223. Abstract of his presentation: With the possibility of GHz of available spectrum and ability to provide multi-Gb/s data rates, mmWave mobile communication is being actively researched in academia and industry for 5G communication. This talk provides an overview of the opportunities and research challenges for enabling this spectrum.

Sridhar Rajagopal is currently a Sr. Staff Engineer at Samsung Research America in Dallas, TX. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Eng. from Rice University. He has previously worked at Nokia Research Center and at WiQuest Communications, and has contributed to multiple communication standards. His research interests are in algorithms and architectures for short-range, high throughput and low power technologies, mmWave and optical wireless communication.

UNT CSE Robotics Society works with Art Institute of Dallas on Music Video

Two UNT CSE Robotics Society students, Joel Thomas and Leonardo Acosta, built a remote controlled robotic head for use in a music video. The group was approached by students form the Art Institute of Dallas to assist them in creating a robot prop for a music video. The turnaround time for the project was approximately one week. Using an Arduino processor and some ingenuity the group was able to produce a working robot head. A video demonstration of the robot can be viewed here. The final video product will be forthcoming.

Distinguished Speaker Seminar on October 17

On Friday, October 17, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering will host its second Distinguished Speaker in Fall 2014. Gabriel (Gabby) Silberman, Executive Director of Technology Strategy and University Alliances with Dell Research, USA, will present "Understanding and Preparing for Disruptive Information Technologies" at 11:30 am in NTDP F223, the main conference room of the CSE Department. Everyone is invited to attend!

For more information, see this announcement.

CSE Student teams up with Mark Cuban to create social media app

With the help and funding of technology entrepreneur Mark Cuban, Computer Science senior Jesse Stauffer recently released Xpire, an application for iOS devices that helps users manage their digital footprints on social media. Read about Jesse’s new partnership and how Jesse teamed up with Cuban in this Dallas Business Journal article. Jesse says in the article, "My goal is to stick with Xpire and just grow. By the time graduation comes, we should be generating good revenue." Congratulations to Jesse on his new app and partnership!

September 2014 Editions of CSE Student and Alumni Newsletters sent

The CSE Department September 2014 Student and Alumni Email Newsletters have been sent. You can view the student newsletter online HERE, and the alumni newsletter online HERE.

CSE one of 15 CS Departments in U.S. selected for BRAID

CSE BRAID faculty: (L-R): Phil Sweany, David Keathly, Renee Bryce, Barrett Bryant, Armin Mikler

The UNT Department of Computer Science and Engineering has been selected to be one of fifteen Computer Science departments in the U.S. to participate in the Building Recruiting And Inclusion for Diversity (BRAID) initiative to increase the percentage of undergraduate majors that are female and students of color. This initiative is being launched by The Anita Borg Institute, a non-profit organization focused on advancing women in computing, and Harvey Mudd College.

The BRAID initiative was announced on September 24 by former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton during her address at the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI), as part of the Girl’s CHARGE, a CGI commitment toward programs for girls and women. BRAID is supported by three-year funding commitments from Facebook, Google, Intel and Microsoft, which provides $30,000/year to each of the participating departments. Maria Klawe, president of Harvey Mudd and Telle Whitney, president and CEO of ABI, will lead the BRAID initiative.

For more information, see this press release.

Distinguished Speaker Seminar on September 19

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering will host several Distinguished Speakers in 2014-2015. On Friday, September 19, our first Distinguished Speaker will be James Caverlee, Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University. His research focuses on web-scale information management, distributed data-intensive systems, and social computing. Dr. Caverlee’s presentation will be on "Geo-Social Footprints in Social Media: Opportunities and Challenges" at 11:30 am in NTDP F223, the main conference room of the CSE Department. For more information, please see this announcement. Everyone is invited to attend!

Welcome Picnic on September 15

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering invites all CSE Students to attend a Welcome picnic on Monday, September 15 from 11:30 am to 12:30 pm at the covered pavilion at the back of Discovery Park by the entrance to Materials Science and Engineering. Food will be catered by El Guapo. Drinks and place settings will be provided. We hope you will join us for food and fun!

Research Experience for Undergraduates

We are seeking five students to join our “Research Experience for Undergraduates” cohort starting the week of 9/15/14. No research experience is required to apply. Students should be sophomores, juniors, or seniors. Students will work on a Software Testing or Computer Science Education project that is commensurate with their background.

Students will work during the academic year and we will provide:

  • $16/hour with the expectation that students work a minimum of 10 hours/week (but they may work more and earn up to $2,500/semester),
  • Weekly breakfast or lunch for the REU cohort (to be scheduled based on the schedules of the students that we hire),
  • Students will be asked to spend the majority of their weekly hours working together so that it is a fun and collaborative experience.

Please apply here.

We anticipate that students will start working the week of 9/15/14.

Please contact Renee.Bryce AT unt.edu with any questions.

Syndicate content