April 3-7, 2017
Marrakech, Morocco

Technical Track on "Programming Languages"



SAC '17

Over the past 31 years, the ACM Symposium on Applied Computing has become a primary forum for applied computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, and application developers from around the world to interact and present their work. SAC 2017 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP). For additional information, please check the SAC web page: This document is also available here.



A technical track on Programming Languages will be held at SAC'17. It will be a forum for engineers, researchers and practitioners throughout the world to share technical ideas and experiences relating to implementation and application of programming languages. Original papers and experience reports are invited in all areas of programming languages. Major topics of interest include but are not limited to the following:

     Compiling Techniques,

     Domain-Specific Languages,

     Formal Semantics and Syntax,

     Garbage Collection,

     Language Design and Implementation,

     Languages for Modeling,

     Model-Driven Development and Model Transformation,

     New Programming Language Ideas and Concepts,

     New Programming Paradigms,

     Practical Experiences with Programming Languages,

     Program Analysis and Verification,

     Program Generation and Transformation,

     Programming Languages from All Paradigms (Agent-Oriented, Aspect-Oriented, Functional, Logic, Object-Oriented, etc.),

     Visual Programming Languages.



Paper submissions must be original, unpublished work. Submissions should be in electronic format, via the link provided at SAC web page:

Author(s) name(s) and address(es) must not appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be avoided and made in the third person. Submitted papers will undergo a blind review process. Authors of accepted papers should submit an editorial revision of their papers that fits within six two-column pages (an extra two pages, to a total of eight pages, may be available at a charge). Please comply with this page limitation already at submission time.  For accepted papers the paper registration is required, allowing the inclusion of the paper/poster in the conference proceedings. An author or a proxy attending SAC MUST present the paper. This is a requirement for the paper/poster to be included in the ACM/IEEE digital library. No-show of scheduled papers and posters will result in excluding them from the ACM/IEEE digital library. A set of selected papers, which did not get accepted as full papers, will be accepted as poster papers and will be published as extended 3-page abstracts (an extra page, to a total of four pages, may be available at a charge)  in the symposium proceedings. After the conference, selected accepted papers will be invited to a special issue of the Computer Languages, Systems and Structures journal (


SAC 2017 will also hold a Student Research Competition (SRC). To enter this in the area of programming languages, please submit via the link at SAC web page:




October 7, 2016: Full Paper Submissions

November 18, 2016: Author Notification

December 2, 2016: Camera-Ready Copy

December 10, 2016: Author Registration


The SAC 2017 Programming Language Track Program Committee Members


Vasco Amaral, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

Roberto da Silva Bigonha, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brasil

Tegawendé F. Bissyandé, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Walter Cazzola, University of Milano, Italy

Andrei Chiș, University of Bern, Switzerland

Igor Dejanović, University of Novi Sad, Serbia

Tom Dinkelaker, Ericsson, Germany

Michael Felderer, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Esther Guerra,  Universidad Autónoma of Madrid, Spain

Pedro Henriques, University of Minho, Portugal

Zoltan Horvath, Eotvos Lorand University, Hungary

Zahi Jarir, Cadi Ayyad University, Morocco

Geylani Kardas, Ege University, Turkey

Hans-Wolfgang Loidl, Heriot-Watt University, UK

David Méndez Acuña, INRIA, France

Rekha Pai, NIT Calicut, India

Nikolaos Papaspyrou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Marco Patrignani, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany

Peter Pirkelbauer, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Enrico Pontelli, New Mexico State University, USA

Ulrik Pagh Schultz, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Boštjan Slivnik, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Jingling Xue, University of New South Wales, Australia

Wuu Yang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan


Track Chairs

Marjan Mernik, University of Maribor, Slovenia,

Barrett Bryant, University of North Texas, USA,